Mini Art Postcards Sat. Nov. 2nd in Saluda, NC at Random Arts

Happy Halloween!

This Sat. I will be teaching my Mini Postcard Quilts at Random Arts, Jane Powell’s little shop in Saluda, NC.  I can’t wait to be in the beautiful NC mountains!  Random Arts is a very unique place for mindful art gatherings.  There is everything from paints & brushes to clothing… ohhhh the cute, funky clothing she now has is so fun!  It is a lovely place to spend the day for sure!  www.randomartsnow.com

Today I will be making little kits for each student to play with, they will include little bits of linen, burlap, batting, hand painted threads, beads, shells, and more!  So, I have to get busy packaging & fluffing!  The hand painted threads we will be using are painted in Germany by one lady.  I don’t have a clue how she does it all, but I sure do love them.  The metallic braid she paints is my new favorite!  Metallic threads have always been a real pain to stitch with… so I was very cautious when Jane Garrison encouraged me to try them.  I could not believe how they worked for me!  No shredding, no breaking of fibers, they are so nice to work with I was in awe!  And sometimes you only need that little sparkle to make something you are working on to be even more beautiful than you could imagine.

The class will be a little painting, stitching, and beading.  I will demo the art of “wadding” up fabrics to use for embellishing to create a little underwater scene or making a wad of fabric look like a tree!  Some of the stitches I wil be showing are so beautiful & so simple to do.  I love the art of embellishing!

I sell all of the Painter’s Threads, so if you have any questions, please let me know.  I’m trying to get them all on my Etsy site to make it easier for everyone.

Below you can see a few of my pictures of these little gems.  They are small enough to not be too over whelming to the student.  I love to work small, since I am already thinking of the next project in my little head……

ImageImageThis one is not quite finished as you can see there is no stitching around the outside edges.Image

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

