Exciting Events for Fall 2015!!!!!

A few months ago I was asked to be on Quilting Arts TV with Susan Brubaker Knapp as the host of the show!  I was thrilled to even be considered, let alone have it all happen!  So now all the contracts are signed and tickets bought, and in September I will be filming three, yes three segments for Quilting Arts!  There will be magazine articles to follow each of the episodes I will be featured in.  Each episode will be techniques I use for embellishing, such as Free-Motion Embroidery, Three Dimensional Embroidery, and Paint Dying Batting, lace, fabric and whatever I can find to paint!!!  It’s going to be tons of fun, but I have lots to prepare.  Already went clothes shopping so now I have something to wear…. like I didn’t have anything before!  Ha!  But you know a girl has to have a new outfit or 12!

I have recently added new classes at Quilter’s Loft in Mooresville, NC and at Random Arts in Saluda, NC.  Both of these shops are wonderful!  And they do such a nice job of promoting and filling my classes.  Thank you Erica & Jane!  The pics below are from the Prayer Flag class I taught at Random Arts in Saluda last week.

Details from Prayer Flag with Folded Yo-Yo's/Hexies

Details from Prayer Flag with Folded Yo-Yo’s/Hexies

Yo-Yo flowers from Prayer Flag and using silk thread for embroidery

Yo-Yo flowers from Prayer Flag and using silk thread for embroidery

Another event sort of fell into my lap a month or so ago too…. it was funny Kristin of Fiber On A Whim sent me a message one day and said she had an idea… well it was to help her and Jan her mom do QuiltFest in Houston!  They finally decided they just could not do it all!  Don’t we all have they news flash every so often???  As hard as we try, sometimes we just need help!  So I’m off to Houston the end of Oct. to help in their very creative booth and to do mini Make-n-Takes using their fabrics, trims and threads they dye.  I just don’t know how they do it all as it is…love their amazing work!  We are going to have a great time!  They too will be guest on the Quilting Arts TV filming the same week I will be there.  We’ll have lots to talk about over a beer or two… oh maybe a few more than that!  🙂  Here is a little sample of the mini classes in Houston.  And yes I may have to simplify it just a bit, but this is the idea using their hand dyed Osnaburg, Cheesecloth, Rayon Ribbons and Pearl Cotton Threads.

Mini Flag for Fiber On A Whim/Houston Quiltfest

Mini Flag for Fiber On A Whim/Houston Quiltfest

Mini Prayer Flag (simple version)

Mini Prayer Flag (simple version)

Leave a Reply

